Diversity Committee

The Society of Pediatric Psychology (SPP) is committed to promoting diversity in pediatric psychology research and clinical care, to increasing the number of SPP members from diverse backgrounds and to providing services and resources for SPP members who are members of underrepresented groups. Based on this commitment, the SPP executive committee established a standing Diversity Committee in 2006, with the goal of promoting diversity issues and research within the division. More recently, the SPP membership passed a bylaw amendment to establish a member-at-large position for diversity issues. Activities of the Diversity Committee include the Diversity Research Grant and Poster Award.

The SPP Diversity Committee, which includes the Member-at-Large for diversity as well as the Diversity Special Interest Group (SIG) consists of 10 SPP members from a variety of institutions.

Committee Members

Melissa Santos, PhD: SPP Member at Large - Diversity, Committee Chair
Amy Beck, PhD: Newsletter Chair
Thomaseo Burton, PhD: Awards Chair
Elizabeth Getzoff, PhD: Membership Chair
Idia Thurston, PhD: SPP Member at Large - Student/Trainees
Steve Reader, PhD: SIG Co-Chair
Josie Welkom, PhD: SIG Co-Chair

SPP members who are interested in learning more about the Diversity Committee, please contact Melissa Santos, PhD. Those interested in joining the Diversity SIG should express interest via our webpage.