SPP 2014 Student Grant & Award Announcements

Apply for SPP grants and awards.

By David Janicke

Marion and Donald Routh Student Research Grant

SPP has established this annual research scholar grant program for graduate students and interns who are student members (post-doctoral fellows are not eligible for this award). Research proposals should address areas consistent with the field of pediatric psychology. Topic examples might include relationships between psychological and physical wellbeing of children and adolescents, including behavioral and emotional components of disease and treatment, the role of pediatric psychology in pediatric medical settings, or the promotion of health and the prevention of illness among children and youth. Funding is available up to $2,000.

Mary Jo Kupst Trainee Grant For Research in Resilience

This grant award was initiated to honor Mary Jo Kupst, PhD’s career contributions. This grant is designed to help facilitate trainee research that will provide a novel contribution and advance the field of pediatric psychology specifically in the area of resilience and/or family functioning. A yearly award of up to $1,000 is available to any graduate student, intern, or postdoctoral fellow who is a member of the Society of Pediatric Psychology.

Lizette Peterson-Homer Injury Prevention Grant

This grant is open to students and faculty to support clinical research related to the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents. Funding is available up to $5,000 and is sponsored jointly by APA Division 54 and the American Psychological Foundation.

SPP Student Research Award Competition

SPP encourages and rewards quality research on issues related to pediatric psychology and health care of children. All research must have been completed while the candidate was a student. The student must be the primary (first) author. An award of $1,000 is available.

Please see the SPP website for complete information on how to apply for these grants and awards.

Please submit applications as one complete PDF document via email to David M. Janicke. The due date for all awards are Oct. 1, 2014.