2024 Student Research Grants and Awards


SPP is delighted to announce the 2024 winners of the Student and Trainee Research Grants and Paper Competition. This funding allows SPP to support student and trainee investigators, truly investing in the future of pediatric psychology. These awards could not be possible without the generous time investment of our reviewers. Special thanks to: Heather Jones, Hobie Davies, Casey Lawless, Mallory Netz, Andrea Begotka, Mary Katherine Cancilliere, Kathryn Hoffses, Kristen Holderle, Donna Marschall, Sam Bora, Micah Brosbe, Kim Gushanas, Paul Enlow, Grayson Holmbeck, Katherine Darling, Kelly Donahue, Liza Bourchtein, Kristin Niel, Molly Basch, Stephanie Hullman, Morgan Spellman, and Karla Fehr. Additional special thanks to Peggy Crawford and Mary Jo Kupst.

Drotar-Crawford Postdoctoral Fellowship Research Grant in Pediatric Psychology

Awardee: Grace Cushman

Mentor: Elizabeth McQuaid

Institution: Rhode Island Hospital and Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Project Title: Preventing an Allergic Reaction: Barriers and Facilitators to Food Allergy Management During the Transition to Adolescence and Young Adulthood.


Awardee: T. Zachary Huit

Mentor: Diane Chen

Institution: Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Project Title: Well-Being and Irritability Following Initiation of Gender-Affirming Testosterone Therapy: A Short-Term Longitudinal Analysis


Marion and Donald Routh Student Research Grant

Awardee: Manuela Sinisterra

Mentor: David Fedele

Institution: The University of Florida, Department of Clinical & Health Psychology

Project Title: Understanding Caregiver Illness Burden and Support in Management of Cystic Fibrosis in Young in School-Age Children: A Mixed Methods Study


Runner-up: B. Sloan Crawford

Mentor: Cecelia Valrie

Institution: Virginia Commonwealth University

Project Title: Examination of Caregiver Knowledge, Attitudes, and Practice (KAP) Concerning Consumption of Omega-3 in Youth with Sickle Cell Disease


Mary Jo Kupst Trainee Grant for Research in Resilience

Awardee: Isabella Sereno

Mentor: Jessica Edwards George

Institution: Northeaster University

Project Title: Satisfaction with Care and Family-Centered Care as Moderators to Presence among


Lizette Peterson-Homer Injury Prevention Grant

Awardee: Kirsten Christensen

Institution: Texas Tech University

Project Title: Improving Brief Assessment of Suicidal Thoughts and Behaviors in Youth


Society of Pediatric Psychology Student Research Paper Award

Awardee: Lolita Wiggs

Mentor: Steve Katsikas

Institution: Spalding University

Paper Title: Assessing Social Functioning and Disability: Initial Exploratory Psychometric Findings of a Promising Instrument in Adolescents with Chronic Illness.


Congratulations to this year’s winners!